Rise of the Technology Class

These conversations are between students from Ecuador, India, Israel, Japan, Mexico, Spain and the US who see technology serving a higher purpose: A counter-culture to their predecessors. This is evidence of a new type of generative class who apply technology to their creativity with art, music, science and involvement within the community. Their activity is transparent and active to our evolving civility. These multinational students are socially conscious storytellers. The Moderator of this conversation, Michael Davis is an Executive MBA graduate of Steinbeis University Germany, The Berlin School of Creative Leadership.

Karla – For me, it’s inspiration

In sophomore year, I took a photography class just for fun, and it turned out to be one of my passions. I just love the way black and white photography can sometimes enhance or take away from reality. I just find it fascinating how your physical point of view can portray much more than what the eye can actually see.
When I took photography in High school, I was acostumed to developing my pics with chemicals and printing pictures by counting the times of exposure and all that jazz.
But only like a month ago, being away from the dark room I have started using a digital camera. It’s simply not the same, it’s way easier, but it is more error-prone. You usually think a pic is good because of the effects of the camera, just simple coincidence. Not that luck and coincidence are not related to the art world, but how do we separate luck and actual talent? My only guess is the stability of your work. In a portfolio, it is key to maintain a constant idea, a flow in the pictures that says, “This is what I’m trying to say, ALL of my pictures portray a different component of the general idea. This is my message.”
For inspiration when taking pictures, just like with other arts, I usually can count on my music. I was one listening to Enrico Caruso singing “Mia Piccirella” while taking studio pictures in my second year of Photography. The pictures came out awesome, by the way.
There is a certain idea to music as an inspiration. I used to listen to Led Zeppelin in the summer before my Freshman year, and draw or just get a personal “High” when my dear Robert Plant hit those high notes in “Kashmir”. This band was the first of many to inspire to do more than just sit around and look at stuff and not do anything. They basically pushed me to get my point of view out there, to get those “highs” that they provoke, and push it to become something.
I’m still looking for new music, ussually the darker the better. Not in thematics, but in fame. Not that Led Zeppelin is unknown, but, I feel like the music of an artist can only be a true interpretation of themselves when they are free from market or business pressures, when they don’t worry about the sales of their music, because ultimately, that is not what music is truly about. For example, just 6 months ago, I started listening to the weird voice and enchanting piano and harp of Miss Joanna Newsom. She’s dark and her lyrics along with her harmonies are as if pulled from mideval ages; simply, beautiful. Along with Joanna Newsom, and before her, there was Bjork, completely dark as well, and just enchanting.

1 Comment»

  castleqwayr wrote @

Hey, Bjork is coming, Is here > > > >


Leave a Reply

